Posted on

June Casagrande author site coming soon

Coming soon: Info about June Casagrande, author of It Was the Best of Sentences, It Was the Worst of Sentences, Mortal Syntax, and Grammar Snobs Are Great Big Meanies.

June writes the weekly syndicated A Word, Please column and podcasts at GrammarUnderground.com.

About June Casagrande

Author of "It Was the Best of Sentences, It Was the Worst of Sentences," "Mortal Syntax," and "Grammar Snobs Are Great Big Meanies." Syndicated grammar columnist, podcaster at GrammarUnderground.com.

7 responses to “June Casagrande author site coming soon

  1. Bruce Tyson ⋅

    On page 163 of Grammar Snobs are Great Big Meanies, you incorrectly talked about having “‘fewer miles’ racked up on your tachometer.“ Miles actually rack up on odometers.

    • You must have a copy from the first print run! Another reader caught that shortly after the book came out and we changed it in subsequent print runs. The stinker of it all: I knew the difference before I wrote that. I just flaked! (That happens to me a lot, actually. Kind of a drag!)

      Anyway, if you see anything else in there, there’s a chance we caught it — and a chance we didn’t! So don’t hesitate to let me know. Thanks! — June

  2. J. Weltman ⋅

    I absolutely loved your Grammar Snobs book! I just checked it out of the local library on audio and listened while in the car. Shelly Frasier captures the spirit perfectly. The book has so many brilliant jokes that I hesitate to show favorites, but I especially enjoyed the “I am Satan” and Valentine’s Day chapters. Many thanks!

  3. Spencer MacGillivray ⋅

    Loved your Grammar Snobs book. The easiest access to inaccessible grammar knowledge I’ve ever read. And, well, figuratively, you can rack miles up on all sorts of things, including tachometers. I choose to believe that you were setting a snob trap.

  4. George Nagel ⋅

    There’s a word that just drives me nuts. I’ll lead up to it from 2 approaches: 1. prevention; prevented; preventing; preventive 2. proactive; reactive; preventive NOT prevenTAtive!!

  5. June, I am currently reading “It was the best of sentences…”, your fantastic book. I love it, as it contains so much that I needed to learn, but never got to. I have several books in me, and now I feel I have the tools to do them justice on paper. Thanks! Liz

    • Thank you so much for saying so. I spent years digging up the info that ended up in there for precisely the reason you pointed to – I never got to learn that stuff in school, either. In fact, the more I talk to people, the more I’m convinced almost no one did. (The people who do feel they got a good grammar education are often the ones who got the most bad information – fake rules about splitting infinitives and starting sentences with prepositions.) So we’re really all in the same boat. Glad I could help a little!

Leave a Reply

